To person

My name is Helmut Hennighausen. For now 41 years I have been living in Wabern together with my family. Wabern is a small village, located about 20 km south of the city of Kassel.

The idea for a homepage was born when I discovered the possibilities the internet offers for family research. In addition to a short personal profile, I would like to publish part of my research results on the Hennighausen / Huennighausen family. My wish is that many interested people come to the Hennighausen - page and contact me (e - mail: helmut (at) hennighausen.org) At this point I would like to also my friend Joachim Jacobi for his support in the fight with the HTML Thanks to source code. Also Hartmut Hennighausen, specialist consultant for computer application and organization and active as a web designer in Berlin, has actively helped.

Family research: My interest in family research began at the age of about 14 years, initially extended to my own family and then to the families living in my home town Riebelsdorf. Through the visit of Mary Jo Southall from Richmond / Virginia, whose great-grandfather came from Riebelsdorf, the first contacts to America were made. In 1982, my wife and I visited several descendants of Hennighausen, who emigrated around 1848 in the USA. During this visit, no phone book was spared from a review of our name. In Chicago was Arthur Hennighausen, with whom in the following years a lively exchange of family data took place, especially concerning the Estonian - East Prussian family branch. Out of this contact arose friendship with many mutual visits. Even Martin Hennighaußen from Irschenhausen, who unfortunately died in February 1999, has contributed much to the study of the family, especially through the many information on the descendants of the watchman Johann Heinrich H. (1786-1859).

I am a member of the Association for Hessian Family Studies and the Westfälische Gesellschaft für Genealogie und Familienforschung. I manage the data of the family Hennighausen with the genealogy program Brother`s Keeper by John Steed. I support the history and culture of Wabern in his work and have helped to create the site chronicles for the 1175th anniversary celebration and the 1200th anniversary celebration. Since 2017 I am also responsible for the continuation of the online family book of the municipality of Wabern.

Amateur radio: I have been enthusiastic about radio waves since my youth. Since 1968 I am a member of the local club Knüll of the German Amateur Radio Club (DARC) and have since 1969 the amateur call sign DK3ZQ. I'm actually QRV on all bands with a TS-850 S, but the Funkerei has stepped aside for reasons of timing. Many nice radio contacts and visits including German lessons by radio were with my friend Ken, G3UDA, from Shrewsbury in England.

Zur Person

Mein Name ist Helmut Hennighausen. Seit nunmehr 37 Jahren lebe ich mit meiner Familie in Wabern. Wabern, ein kleiner Ort in Nordhessen, liegt etwa 20 km südlich von Kassel.

Die Idee zu einer Homepage wurde geboren, als ich feststellte, welche Möglichkeiten das Internet für die Familienforschung eröffnet. Ich möchte neben einem kurzen Steckbrief zur eigenen Person einen Teil meiner Forschungsergebnisse zur Familie Hennighausen / Huennighausen veröffentlichen. Mein Wunsch ist, dass viele Interessierte auf die Hennighausen - Seite stoßen und mit mir Kontakt aufnehmen ( e-mail: helmut(at)hennighausen.org ) An dieser Stelle möchte ich auch meinem Freund Joachim Jacobi für seine Unterstützung bei dem Kampf mit den HTML Quelltexten danken. Auch Hartmut Hennighausen, Fachberater für EDV-Anwendung und Organisation und tätig als Webdesigner in Berlin, hat tatkräftig Hilfe geleistet.

Familienforschung: Mein Interesse für die Familienforschung begann schon im Alter von etwa 14 Jahren, erstreckte sich zunächst auf die eigene Familie und dann auf die in meinem Heimatort Riebelsdorf lebenden Familien. Durch den Besuch von Mary Jo Southall aus Richmond / Virginia, deren Urgroßvater aus Riebelsdorf stammte, entstanden die ersten Kontakte nach Amerika. 1982 besuchten meine Frau und ich etliche Nachkommen der um 1848 ausgewanderten Hennighausen in den USA. Bei diesem Besuch blieb kein Telefonbuch von der Durchsicht nach unserem Namen verschont. In Chicago fand sich Arthur Hennighausen, mit dem in den folgenden Jahren ein reger Austausch an Familiendaten stattfand, besonders den estländisch - ostpreußischen Familienzweig betreffend. Aus diesem Kontakt entstand eine Freundschaft mit vielen gegenseitigen Besuchen. Auch Martin Hennighaußen aus Irschenhausen, der leider im Februar 1999 verstorben ist, hat viel zur Erforschung der Familie beigetragen, insbesondere durch die vielen Informationen zu den Nachkommen des Wachmeisters Johann Heinrich H. (1786-1859).

Ich bin Mitglied im Verein für Hessische Familienkunde und in der Westfälischen Gesellschaft für Genealogie und Familienforschung. Die Daten der Familie Hennighausen verwalte ich mit dem Genealogieprogramm Brother`s Keeper von John Steed. Den Geschichts- und Kulturkreis Wabern unterstütze ich bei seiner Arbeit und habe bei der Erstellung der Ortschroniken zur 1175 Jahr-Feier und zur 1200 Jahr-Feier mitgearbeitet. Seit 2017 bin ich auch zuständig für die Weiterführung des Online Familienbuches der Gemeinde Wabern.

Amateurfunk: Für Radiowellen habe ich mich von Jugendzeit an begeistert. Seit 1968 bin ich Mitglied im Ortsverband Knüll des Deutschen Amateurradioclubs (DARC) und habe seit 1969 das Amateurrufzeichen DK3ZQ. QRV bin ich eigentlich auf allen Bändern mit einem TS-850 S, allerdings ist die Funkerei aus zeitlichen Gründen etwas in den Hintergrund getreten. Viele nette Funkkontakte und Besuche einschließlich Deutschunterricht per Funk gab es mit meinem Freund Ken, G3UDA, aus Shrewsbury in England.